A Most Happy Christmas Morning to You and Yours

Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Most Happy Christmas Morning to You and Yours

  1. Fr Mathew says:

    Wish you a Blessed Christmas to you!

    Fr Mathew frmathewchacko@aol.com

    Like

  2. jrj1701 says:

    Christ is born, Glorify Him. May your Christmas be filled with light and laughter. Thanks for all that you have done for me and others this year. You have given me plenty to think about and I encourage you to keep up the good work, and keep up the good fight.

    Like

  3. David Llewellyn Dodds says:

    Octave thanks for this – it is delightful! Assuming this is St. Nicholas rather than Father Christmas, it contributes to something I have been wondering about, lately. In the Netherlands, St. Nicholas arrives in public a couple weeks before his Gregorian Feast Day, wearing a mitre and in some sense dressed like a western bishop. But – my woeful ignorance has finally got me wondering – in what sense, exactly? When, in the conduct of his office, would a bishop dress as Sinterklaas does? (It is interesting to contrast the 1810 Alexander Anderson St. Nicholas broadside, with St. Nicholas looking much more like what you might expect on an ikon – I have yet to read any detailed discussion of a source (the bee-hive makes me think of St. Ambrose!) – with both the cookie produced from an eighteenth-century Dutch mold and the 1821 Children’s Friend illustration, to which your picture here is closest: for all three, see

    http://www.stnicholascenter.org/pages/knickerbocker/ )

    What I’ve been wondering about is, how would bishops have dressed when out-of-doors, especially, in cold weather? Is there, in fact, anything noticeably ‘unepiscopal’ about the dress of St. Nicholas in the 1821 illustration, or the one in Robert Weir’s 1837 painting, or in yours, here? Or are these just such things as bishops might have worn (or still might wear? – I have seen Geoffrey Rowell as Bishop of Gibraltar in Europe dressed for the weather!)

    Do you, or any readers, happen to have any light to shed on this for me?

    Like

Comments are closed.