“After his circumcision, we were cleansed by a solemn purification”

So, when he died, we died with him, and when he rose, we rose with him. Likewise, we were also circumcised along with him. After his circumcision, we were cleansed by a solemn purification. Hence we have no need at all for a circumcision of the flesh. You should know that he was circumcised for our sake. Listen to Paul’s clear proclamation. He says, “For in him the whole fullness of deity dwells bodily, and you have come to fullness of life in him, who is the head of all rule and authority. In him also you were circum- cised with a circumcision made without hands, by putting off the body of flesh in the circumcision of Christ. And you were buried with him in baptism, in which you were also raised with him through faith in the working of God, who raised him from the dead.” Therefore his death, his resurrection and his circumcision took place for our sake.

Origen of Alexandria

Quote | This entry was posted in Citations. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to “After his circumcision, we were cleansed by a solemn purification”

  1. Juan C. Torres says:

    I love it! Do you think you could write about the vicarious humanity of Jesus at some point this year? It is virtually unheard of to mist Christians. Yet as Origen has shown it helps us better understand the work of Christ and our proper response to it.

    Like

    • Fr Aidan Kimel says:

      Juan, if I can ever figure out what I really think about the vicarious humanity of Christ, I will certainly attempt to blog on it. I think I have avoided the topic because I cannot figure out TFT’s construal of the faith of Christ and its relationship to our faith. I know that you know precisely what passages in Torrance I’m thinking of.

      Like

      • Juan C. Torres says:

        There is a certain elegance to simplicity that, unfortunately, many theologians lack. I know what you mean.

        Like

Comments are closed.