“All get what they want …”

Quote | This entry was posted in Citations, Inklings & Company. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to “All get what they want …”

  1. Ah, but herein rests the real problem and heart of the manner. What is it that I really want? As the years have gone by, I have become more and more aware of the depths of corruption in my heart, and how the things I thought I wanted were really not so much those of wanting the Lord as wanting something for and of myself. The hidden secrets of a man’s heart are a fearful reality. How deep the heart of man goes and how little we really know of our own selves.

    This is what I find fearful.

    Like

    • Fr Aidan Kimel says:

      Sometimes, Edward, all we can do, especially if one has a sensitive nature, is live with that fear. Elder Sophrony said, “Stand on the edge of the abyss and when you feel that it is beyond your strength, break off and have a cup of tea.” I prefer Earl Grey, myself.

      Like

  2. wm borch says:

    Appreciate both comment and response; both apropos!

    Like

Comments are closed.