“Stretch forth your hand and heal me of my infirmity”

Lord, at this moment I pray that you will hear me and give heed to the voice of my supplication. Stretch forth your hand, touch me and heal me of my infirmity. Grant that I may understand the nature of my illness and sustain me as I deal with its effects upon my life. Strengthen me, O Lord, as I perceive my affliction, not as an overwhelming obstacle, but rather, as a challenge to be met and overcome.

Holy Father, who in your infinite love created us in Your image and likeness; who formed my body out of the earth and breathed into it Your divine and life-giving breath; do You, Yourself, O Lord, look with mercy upon me, Your child, and heal my spirit and body. Help me to endure the tribulations of my infirmity and keep my soul safe through all that has happened and will happen.

Yes, Lord, I know that you are present at all times, long in patience, great in mercy and compassion. Receive my prayer at this present time and direct my life according to your commandments. Sanctify my soul. Cleanse my body and set my mind aright. Deliver me from sorrow, evil, and distress. Surround me with your holy angels, that guarded and guided by them, I may overcome this adversity.

Thank You, Lord, for hearing my prayer.

Amen.

Lord, have Mercy.

Have mercy on me, O Lord, according to your great mercy, I pray to You, hear me and have mercy.

Lord, have mercy.

Again I ask for your mercy; for life, health, peace and for forgiveness of my sins and transgressions.

Lord, Have mercy.

Visit O lord, and heal my infirmity and deliver me from pain and long suffering.

Lord, Have mercy.

Lord Jesus Christ our Savior, Physician of our souls and bodies, who for our salvation, became man and suffered death on the Cross; O Lord, visit me in my suffering and grant me grace and strength to bear this illness. Heal me, O Lord, not only in body, but also in mind and soul. So that I may please you in all things and praise your blessed name all the days of my life.

Amen.

Quote | This entry was posted in Citations. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to “Stretch forth your hand and heal me of my infirmity”

  1. Is this the prayer for the sacrament of the anointing of the sick per chance?

    Like

  2. Ajax says:

    Father, thank you so much for this. I check your blog frequently, but this post is incredibly apt to my current situation – I am going in for s heart catheterization tomorrow morning and I’m feeling fearful. Please pray for me.

    Like

  3. David says:

    Thank you, Father.

    Do you know of any similar for one who struggles with deep despair?

    Like

  4. Thank you for this beautiful prayer, Fr. Aidan. My husband and I have been needing this, and I am happy to say, thanks be to God, Jim is doing much better. The daily struggle to overcome despair is hard work and would be impossible without the Lord’s help. Your blog has been such a comfort.

    Like

Comments are closed.