Favorite Theological Books Updated

I have updated the list of my favorite theological books.  I lifted the self-imposed restriction of one book per theologian, thus allowing me to include other titles.  I have also added theologians that I either failed to mention the first time round or read after the original composition of the list.  And now it’s alphabetized, too!

Do take a look.  Perhaps you’ll see something you will want to read someday.

Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Favorite Theological Books Updated

  1. Fr. Dale Coleman says:

    I think your list is extensive and very satisfying. I would add Michael Ramsey’s “Be Still and Know”, St. Augustine’s “Confessions”, John Milbank’s”Theology and Social Theory”, Anthony Thiselton’s “New Horizons in Hermeneutics”, Pannenberg’s “Systematic Theology”, something by Rowan Williams, and Charles Taylor’s “A Secular Age”. Thanks for provoking my thinking on this!

    Like

  2. Dallas Wolf says:

    Thanks, Fr. I got a late start, but I’m going as fast as the Spirit will allow.

    Like

  3. David Llewellyn Dodds says:

    Wow! I’ve only read three of those, so far, not counting Williams and Lewis. “The world was all before them” meets “Had we but world enough and time”…

    Thanks for the possibilities and pointers!

    Like

  4. Nicholas says:

    Hello Father, glad to see my patron saint Nicholas Cabasilas on your list!

    Have you ever read the Anglican theologian Fr. Robert Farrar Capon? I think he’d be right up your alley. “Between Noon and Three” is one of my favorite books of any kind and he has a series on the parables that is fantastic.

    Like

    • Fr Aidan Kimel says:

      Greetings, Nicholas. I have read several Capon books, and I just reread Between Noon and Three (the revised version) last October. Capon is absolutely unique. I love his emphatic assertion of the unconditionality of the divine love. My one question about him, though, is where sanctification comes in. As far as I can tell, it doesn’t come in anywhere. In that way he reminds me of Gerhard Forde and Paul Zahl.

      Like

      • Nicholas says:

        I’ve always been confused about what exactly sanctification is. Do you mean theosis? If so, you’re right, there’s not much in Capon about it. He does leave bits lying around. I’m paraphrasing, but at one point he says that although no reform is required for forgiveness, after forgiveness there *may* be reason for reform. But he just hints at it.

        Like

Comments are closed.