Jerry Walls on What’s Wrong with Calvinism

Randall Rauser’s recent blog postings have brought Calvinism back to my attention. Readers of Eclectic Orthodoxy will not be surprised that Calvinism is beyond my sympathies.  Because it restricts God’s unconditional love to the Elect, it necessarily presents a distorted and pastorally disastrous construal of the gospel of Jesus Christ. Today a reader brought to my attention these three videos by Jerry Walls on Calvinism. They are pretty good and I commend them to you. If you only have time to watch one, then I suggest that you watch Part 2.

Part 1:

Part 2:

Part 3:

Readers of Eclectic Orthodoxy will also not be surprised that I remain skeptical of the understanding of libertarian freedom advanced by Walls—not because I believe its philosophical alternative, namely, compatibilism, but because I am persuaded (not convinced, but persuaded) that a proper understanding of divine transcendence and the creatio ex nihilo requires us to recognize that the Creator/creature relationship transcends the libertarianism/compatibilism duality.  But I don’t have anything more to add to what I have already written on the topic.

Take a look at these videos and tell me what you think of them.

(HT: Drew Smith)

Video | This entry was posted in Theology. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Jerry Walls on What’s Wrong with Calvinism

  1. Could you link what you’ve written on how the Creator/creature distinction transcends the libertarian/compatibilism debate? I’d like to give that a read through!

    RVW

    Like

  2. Paul says:

    Here’s a response to Walls’ argument that was recently published in Phil Christi.

    http://www.gregwelty.com/2015/10/a-response-to-jerry-walls-on-christian-compatibilism/

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.