Favorite Christmas Albums

I own more Christmas albums than I can possibly play during the Christmas season. And each year I add one or two more. I thought I’d share some of my favorites (in no particular order):

 
1) Wolcum Yule

2) The Carol Album

3) A Colonial Christmas

4) Sing We Christmas

 
What are your favorite Christmas albums?

Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Favorite Christmas Albums

  1. Jonathan says:

    I have to go with Bach’s Christmas Oratorio.

    Also, believe it or not, Bob Dylan’s Christmas album from 8 or 10 years ago. Yes, listening to it can feel. . . penitential. But I do get a kick out of it. And the man is sincere, he is a believer. Not recommended for anyone who is not a Dylan fanatic, as I am. The Bach, on the other hand, is for the whole world.

    Like

  2. Come to think of it though, this album of Christmas music wasn’t that bad.

    On to search for Gregorian chants!

    Like

  3. ok…here we go. Not exactly Gregorian chant but their music can definitely sound exactly like that.
    My new favourite Christmas album is…
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Winter%27s_Knight
    Winter’s Knight by Nox Arcana!

    Like

  4. This is mine. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Mh0CmBQFhEI

    Though I must say, I prefer the performance in which John Shirley-Quirk sings “The Oxen”. But that’s just me, I suppose.

    Like

  5. This album of J.J. Ryba’s Czech Christmas Masses.

    Like

  6. Jessica says:

    I’m not an avid commenter, but talking about this album brings me out of the woodwork: The Sufjan Stevens Christmas box set. This version of “Away in a Manger” is almost simplistic, but by the end it’s so heartfelt: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZOp31MB7ii8

    Like

  7. Andrew says:

    Christmas Spirituals by Odetta!

    Like

  8. Monte says:

    Any of the Christmas Festivals from St. Olaf College, and Sweet Bells, by Kate Rusby. Also, I owe you a huge thanks. I’m writing a paper on apocatastasis for first year theology class in seminary, and your blog has pointed the way in finding theologians to read. You have been credited in the footnotes, of course. Thank you!

    Like

  9. AR says:

    Three Musical Fables, John Rutter. It combines music with storytelling. The one about the dragon is a little iffy but Brother Heinrich’s Christmas can stand retelling.

    Also: it’s not a recording, but the Oxford Book of Carols is a stupendous resource. Once you begin paging through it you realize you’ve never heard most carols out there. And the Christmas drinking songs… well they supply a need, that’s all.

    Like

Comments are closed.