Variations on the Song of Songs by Christos Yannaras

I have started to read Variations on the Song of Songs by Christos Yannaras. After reading the first chapter, I see that it will not lend itself to ready blogging. It reads almost like a poem. I wonder what it’s like in the original Greek.

I think I’ll read a chapter a day and will periodically post passages that I particularly like, perhaps accompanied by a thought or two of my own, if I can do so without spoiling Yannaras’s meditations upon life, love, and death.

My thanks to Brian Moore for recommending this book to me many months ago.

 

Aside | This entry was posted in Zizioulas & Yannaras. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Variations on the Song of Songs by Christos Yannaras

  1. Jonathan says:

    I also owe a debt to Brian for introducing me to this book. When I bought it, I read it straight through in one night, unable to go to bed until I had finished it, or indeed for several hours afterwards. The right time and the right place in my life, I guess. I must finally admit it is the only book of Yannaras’ that I really get. But reading it like that was perhaps not ideal, and I’ve been meaning to go back through it slowly and more meditatively. So I really appreciate these posts of excerpts.

    One thing that intrigues me about Variations on the Song of Songs is the musical structure. I’m much handier with classical music than I am with theology. I think I’m beginning to glean what Yannaras is up to in titling his sections with musical terms, and this is adding to my appreciation for the beauty of the book.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.