Bulgakov on Apokatastasis and the Fallen Spirits

This entry was posted in Sergius Bulgakov. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bulgakov on Apokatastasis and the Fallen Spirits

  1. Fr Aidan Kimel says:

    Bulgakov did not have access to the Second Part of St Isaac the Syrian’s discourses; otherwise he no doubt have cited him, in addition to St Gregory of Nyssa: “Good News and Bad News.”

    For myself, I prefer to maintain a position of agnosticism. It’s none of my business. Or as Aslan tells Shasta in The Horse and the Boy: “Child! I am telling you your story, not hers. I tell no one any story but his own.” In Jesus Christ, God has told us our story. That is sufficient. The story of Satan has yet to be definitively written.

    Like

  2. Tom says:

    Nice. I thought of Fr Lawrence’s point about not “underestimating the power of evil” when I ran into Bulgakov on p. 27: “Evil is exhaustible and exhausts itself.”

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.