Ramelli on Origen and St Gregory Nyssen

Given that few of my readers are in a position to read Ilaria Ramelli’s huge and exorbitantly priced monograph on apokatastasis, I thought it might be helpful to embed one of her key essays: “Christian Soteriology and Christian Platonism.” Rameli seeks to prove (1) that Origen’s eschatology has been misrepresented by scholars and churchmen in important ways over the centuries, (2) that a greater continuity exists between Origen and St Gregory of Nyssa than has been previously recognized, and (3) that both men sought to firmly ground their eschatological convictions in Holy Scripture.

This entry was posted in Eschatology. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ramelli on Origen and St Gregory Nyssen

  1. Mickey says:

    can you recommend a book introducing Origen’s writings, primarily on Love and Apokatastasis? I’ve seen 2 by , I think, Balthazar – any other ones, (not too heavy, if poss) thanks

    Like

    • Fr Aidan Kimel says:

      Mickey, I’m afraid I’m not a good person to ask, as I really haven’t studied Origen’s work or read much of the secondary studies.

      Like

Comments are closed.