“He who knows his own sin …”

13332779_10209196236600364_1491951370770254827_n

Image | This entry was posted in Isaac the Syrian. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to “He who knows his own sin …”

    • Fr Aidan Kimel says:

      Sorry, I don’t know the source.

      Like

    • I think it’s a simplified form of a passage from Homily 64 of the Ascetic Homilies. The Holy Transfiguration Monastery translation has:

      “The man who sighs over his soul for but one hour is greater than he who raise the dead by his prayer while dwelling amid many men. The man who is deemed worthy to see himself is greater than he who is deemed worth to see the angels, for the latter has communion through his bodily eyes, but the former through the eyes of his soul.”
      [St. Isaac the Syrian, The Ascetical Homilies of Isaac the Syrian, Holy Transfiguration Monastery (Boston, MA: 2011) p. 461.]

      Liked by 1 person

  1. My confessor has me, for one of my numerous penances, keeping a notebook of my own sins. My Vicar General added that I also keep a record of the good accomplishments I have made as well.

    It’s always very humbling but at the same time inspiring to see my sins each week. Humbling to know that I am very far from perfection. Inspiring because while I may be far from perfection, I’ve come along way from where I once was. Regretfully, I have to confess I am still the chief of sinners and I am not worthy that my Lord should come under my roof.

    Like

  2. David Llewellyn Dodds says:

    “The man who sighs over his soul for but one hour is greater than he who raise the dead by his prayer while dwelling amid many men” is striking in the context of the previous post: what is possible, and what is urgent, while the world endures.

    Like

Comments are closed.