What the Cross Meant to Charles Williams

This entry was posted in Inklings & Company. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to What the Cross Meant to Charles Williams

  1. Fr Aidan Kimel says:

    Williams’s idiosyncratic essay (and I think it fair to describe it as idiosyncratic) was published as part of a collection of essays by various authors: What the Cross Means to Me.

    Like

    • David Llewellyn Dodds says:

      Many thanks for this link! I’ve somehow never got round to getting hold of a copy and settling down to read what (some of) the other contributors said! I’ve been especially curious about Evgheny Lampert’s contribution…

      I love Williams’s sentence on page 171, “Life (experience suggests) is a good thing, and somehow unendurable; at least the Christian faith has denied neither side of the paradox.”

      Like

  2. brian says:

    It wouldn’t be Williams if it were not by turns idiosyncratic, obscure, and challenging to easy, conventional pieties.

    Like

  3. Thank you for this unusual piece which I never would have found otherwise. I don’t know what it all means, but the individual bits are shocking and invigorating and show that inversive nature of CW’s mind (which I think to be the key principle of the Inklings).
    I suppose the people in this book were generally recognized as Christian public intellectuals at the time? I confess I don’t know many of them.

    Like

Comments are closed.