Sergius Bulgakov: The Most Interesting Theologian in the World

This entry was posted in Interesting Theologians. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sergius Bulgakov: The Most Interesting Theologian in the World

  1. Anon says:

    Is there a way in which his contention that the wisdom of God gives orientation to creation categorically deviates from the teachings of, say, Maximus the Confessor?

    Like

    • Fr Aidan Kimel says:

      Anon, I generally don’t allow anonymous comments, but I’ll make an exception here. I ask that you please share your first name (or alias) and genuine email next time. Thanks.

      To your question: beats me! Truth be told, I find both theologians virtually incomprehensible, which has discouraged me from attempting to read either in depth. I have read Bulgakov’s books on the Theotokos and St John the Forerunner, as well as his section on eschatology in his Bride of the Lamb; but nothing more. Hence I cannot even attempt a tentative answer to your question. I wonder how many people actually could, as it would require a lot of work (as well as intelligence), to master both sufficiently. Anyway, I know that I sure don’t belong to that elite club. 🙂

      Like

      • Anon says:

        Father bless – that is perhaps the most refreshing blog comment I have ever read!

        Apologies for the anonymity – its a professional thing

        Like

Comments are closed.